Live Era '87-'93 review by Guns N' Roses

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 23, 1999
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.2 (65 votes)
Guns N' Roses: Live Era '87-'93

Sound — 10
The way that this album was put together is great! Because it's from various live performances, you get to hear Axl's voice from different times, so it cant be judged on one performance! The fact that its two discs makes it a worthy purchase, and the songs included are excellent choices, as some of the lesser known songs such as 'Used To Love Her' and 'Dust N' Bones' are all on there. This album was released in 1999, which was 5 years after Slash left, and his solos, which is mostly extended, still sound as awesome and mesmorizing as ever!

Lyrics — 10
Axl's voice is completely unique! His vocal range is incredible! His voice can be high pitched and grungy (Welcome To The Jungle), it can be soft (Sweet Child O' Mine & It's Alright), and it can be powerful as hell (You Could Be Mine & It's So Easy)! He always was an enchanting frontman and this album gives you a real sense of his voice!

Overall Impression — 10
GN'R don't really compare to anyone, but bands like 'The GaGas' and 'The Glitterati' have the same type of thing goin on! Velvet Revolver will always be compared to GN'R aswell, even though they are a completely different band! Songs that stand out are: 'Used To love her', 'It's So Easy', 'Patience', 'Don't Cry', 'Paradise City', 'You Could Be Mine'. I could go on and on! The artwork/pics from the cover are great aswell, and the discs look great! If you're into GN'R, or just rock music in general then this album is a must have! If I could I would rate this album about 50 for everything!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date