Welcome To The Videos [DVD] review by Guns N' Roses

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 9
  • Content: 8
  • Production Quality: 9
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (10 votes)
Guns N' Roses: Welcome To The Videos [DVD]

Sound — 9
Guns N' Roses is about the only band that rose out of L.A. in the late 80s that wasn't a hair metal band, and one of the only bands of the era that's music is memorable. Welcome To The Videos is a collection of all the music videos that GN'R made through its career. It is interesting to watch the videos if only to see the progression of the band from just some guys with a band to the biggest band in the world. It is also interesting to see the lineup changes that start to happen during the early 90s (like Slash wearing a sign that says: "Where's Izzy?" on the "Don't Cry" video).

Content — 8
The DVD features 13 music videos of GN'R's biggest hits. The DVD features videos for: 01.Welcome To The Jungle: their debut hit that made them the biggest band in the world, the song/video is about Axl coming to L.A. 02.Sweet Child O' Mine: after WTTJ, people found this power ballad and discovered that GN'R had a soft side. 03.Paradise City: in this video you can see that GN'R is getting big, playing a huge stadium. 04.Patience: their second ballad, the video is a bit weird though. 05.Don't Cry: their third ballad, once again kind of a strange video, something about Axl wanting to kill his girlfriend. 06.Live And Let Die: mostly just a video of a live preformance. 07.November Rain: another ballad, now Axl's getting married. 08.Yesterdays: yes, another ballad, mostly just the guys sittin' around playing. 09.The Garden: this video is a bit wierd and features many strippers, and other things of the like. 10.Dead Horse: another live preformance video (Axl's wearing a kilt!). 11.Garden of Eden: probably the funniest video on the DVD, notice the random headbangers in the background. 12.Estranged: continuation of the story started in "Don't Cry", and continued in "November Rain". This time Axl's getting divorced...and swimming with dolphins. 13.Since I Don't Have You: Another ballad, video is about girls. The songs on the DVD are pretty good, and are the best ones GN'R has to offer. There are absolutly no extras at all, there is only the videos.

Production Quality — 9
The production quality is pretty good, but some of the videos are pretty cheesy. "Why is Axl swimming with dolphins? WTF?" But remember, these videos were made in the 80s and early 90s, they didn't make very many good videos back then. Other than that the videos are a bit wierd, the production quality is good.

Overall Impression — 7
Welcome To The Videos is a pretty good representation of GN'R's history. It's fun to watch the videos to see the guys "grow up", from punks on the street to most famous musicians in the world. The fact that the DVD has absolutly no extras at all takes away from the overall experience. If you are a huge GN'R fan (or you just like cheesy videos), you should consider getting this DVD. Plus you can probably find it for under 10 bucks so you won't be out too much if you don't like it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date