Handsome review by Handsome

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 4, 1997
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 5 (2 votes)
Handsome: Handsome

Sound — 10
Handsome were a 5 piece I guess what was hardcore/rock metal influenced band made up of members of Helmet, Cro Mags, Quicksand and other NYC bands. They were signed to Sony in 1997 to much acclaim but then broke up a year later. I don't think the existance of boyband 'Hanson' at the time helped their cause! The album is has a very gritty street kind of feel with pounding and epic guitars over huge drums and melody vocals one of the first bands to do this-now it is all over the place. Terry Date produced it is very polished for the time and similar to production as far beyond driven and deftones in the sort of crystal quality-almost cold sounding.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are very esoteric but very soundscape like really paints the picture of alienation or frustration in the big apple well. Singer at the time really stood out with melody vocals over the brutal guitars. Lyrics are very paranoid and angst ridden that's about as much as you can sum them up by, for me however they just accompany the great sounds well.

Overall Impression — 10
First 5 songs are just so epic-kind of songs you rebel against everything in your existance with at the end of a tough day and really lifts you. Going to panic is angst ridden with dual guitars doing chordal harmonies in a death metal minor 3rd way over completely different higher register playing. The overall band just gives the impression of extreme musicianship with a sort of rebellion possibly brought on by being ousted from former bands and desperately trying to get back at them. I have 3 copies because this CD is so rare. I got it in a bargain bucket for 50 pence in '98 what a steal! If you like quicksand, helmet, deftones etc you will love this.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date