Causing A Scene review by Herbrightskies

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 31, 2010
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 6.6 (8 votes)
Herbrightskies: Causing A Scene

Sound — 8
This new album Causing A Scene by Swedish Post-Hardcore Rockers Herbrightskies, is as catchy as any Punk-Pop band, but whilst still keeping the more interesting and intricate guitar riffs that make them a lot more heavy rocker listener friendly. The album is comprised of 12 songs that vary in themes, from things like Love and Break-ups to the bands love for Rock and Roll as illustrated in the songs Sold Our Souls(to rock and roll) and Sing It! The band really made an effort when making this album, as the lyrics are crisp and quite audible and the screams are well timed and very melodic within the tunes. On the downside though, they do sound a bit more pop than their last album, as well as a lot of the songs solo riffs do sound a little bit too similar to the last. I personally would have appreciated a little bit more rawness in the sound but, it is a well polished album none the less.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics in Causing a Scene are catchy and more often than not are really well written. The vocals are crisp and energetic which with the fast paced riffs and enjoyable melodies will get you quickly drawn in... Songs such as Heartbreaker and Little Miss Obvious will have you singing along and thoroughly enjoying your self. Other songs on the album such as Stargazer/Icebreaker will have you headbanging and bouncing off the walls. All in all this album is very lyrically astute and has proven that this band has the ability to become a world famous band.

Overall Impression — 8
If you were looking for something similar to fellow Swedish bands such as Adept you will be very disappointed in what you will find, but if you are or were a Herbrightskies fan previously, this album is fantastic. In a similar style to Chemical Vocation's last album they went more pop-like, but in the long run this just might get them that large fan-base that they are growing to deserve. If you aren't sure about this band or their new album go over to their myspace page and have a listen. songs that are recommended for listening are Hearbreaker, Sold Our Souls(to rock and roll) and Stargazer/Icebreaker.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date