Ask For It review by Hole

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 26, 1995
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 6.3 (3 votes)
Hole: Ask For It

Sound — 10
This is a very interesting sound from Hole. It is mostley live recordings and Peel Sessions. Most of the songs are covers, ("Pale Blue Eyes," "Drown Soda," "Over The Edge," and "Forming/Hot Chocolate Boy") and songs fro other Hole albums ("Violet" and "Doll Parts"), but they all seem special. The sound quality is a little rough, but the songs are great.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are great on this album. They fit the songs well Courtney Love does a great job singing, and you can really hear her voice straining on "Pale Blue Eyes." Great.

Overall Impression — 10
This is a great album, even though it is mostly covers. The songs sound great, especially Violet. "Pale Blue Eyes" is my favorite song, but theyre all good. If it were stolen, I would definately buy it again. A great album.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Drown Soda isn't a cover, it's a Hole original and was b-side to the Teenage Whore single