Swan Songs review by Hollywood Undead

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 2, 2008
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 4.6 (18 votes)
Hollywood Undead: Swan Songs

Sound — 7
Hollywood Undead is a rap rock/rapcore band. There are some good Hip-hop beats used within the album that are place under some. At times, very forceful vocals. However at time I feel the sound gets to over-processed and too much tries to get added in, with very little shifts in dynamics through-out most of the songs. To me certain songs also have too much high-end instrumentation incorporated and not enough bass sounds.

Lyrics — 7
Someone's angry. I think that would be the best way to describe the lyrics within this album. There not a happy bunch of individuals. Some of the lyrics are well worked, however most of the time are about either getting drunk, killing people, sleeping with women or a combination of the both. Some songs tend to stray away from this however, with "Young" being one of them.

Overall Impression — 9
Unfortunately for me the best song on the album is the song that was released "Undead" and as it's also the first song on the album, I find myself just listening to that song far more than the rest. However it does pick up at some points through-out the album, with "Young" also being a very good song. Overall I think this is a good example of a rock rap/rapcore album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date