Kings Of Pop review by Home Grown

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 25, 2002
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.6 (5 votes)
Home Grown: Kings Of Pop

Sound — 9
Kings Of Pop is Home Growns first major label release and is a great pop-punk album full of good melodies. A fine pop-punk album which people became aware of after the hit single You're Not Alone. Home Grown started as more of a punk band but are pop-punk now with the addition of catchy and melodic songs.

Lyrics — 7
Typical pop-punk lyrics about girls, love and breakups. Suits the music and the guy has quite a good voice but nothing particularly special compared to other bands in this genre.

Overall Impression — 9
This is probably for fans of Blink 182, Midtown and The Starting Line as it is full of pop-punk melody and distorted guitar. A very fast paced album with all the songs at 2/3 minutes each. The best songs on the album are the hit single You're Not Alone, which is an incredibly catchy and well written song, Second Best, Why Won't You Leave Me and Tomorow. I love the mixture of guitars one playing fast paced chords and the other with nice melodic work over the top. Also the general fast pace of the songs. If stolen/lost I would definately get this album again.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date