Drop It Til It Pops review by Hot Club de Paris

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 9, 2006
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (6 votes)
Hot Club de Paris: Drop It Til It Pops

Sound — 9
Hot Club de Paris should've been locked up in an institute by now. The amount of energy they put into the songs on this album is unbelieveable. All jittery guitar fills and a'cappello vocal parts, this is undoubtedly one of the best indie albums of 2006. The drums pound relentlessly throughout the album, intertwining perfectly with the bass to make the songs lively and 100% danceable. A truly unique sound from a truly unique band!

Lyrics — 8
The vocals are, in many ways, the best part on the album. A'cappello chants dominate songs such as Snitches Get Stitches, Bonded By Blood (A Song For Brothers) and Shipwreck. The chants don't tire at all, and they provide entertainment for your ears throughout! The songs are all quirkily named to match the quirkiness of the song itself, the prime example being Sometimesitsbetternottostickbitsofeachotherineachotherforeachother. Bet you've never heard a name like that before.

Overall Impression — 9
Usually at this point in a review, I would compare Hot Club to another similar band, but I can't actually think of anybody that share any similarities with them! They truly are a unique band, and I challenge anyone to find another band who play their songs with such energy, passion and confidence. And who also indulge in a bit of barber shop, if you just dabble in indie music or are a real hardcore indie fan, you need to buy this album! And also, they're British, so you'd be helping the economy.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date