Iced Earth review by Iced Earth

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1990
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (10 votes)
Iced Earth: Iced Earth

Sound — 10
The sound to this album is really something most new bands that are trying to get big or get a record deal should go for. It's metal as it's supposed to sound, this and the Enter The Realm demo (the one that got their record deal with Century Media) are something else once you listen to it enough. The drums and rhythmn guitars come through nice and strong, with the lead doing its job nicely. Some people may not like the guys voice but the last song When The Night Falls, I reckon, is a sign that the guy could sing a metal song the way they all should be. The overall sound can be compared to Iron Maiden and Metallica, just awesome.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are typically metal but Jon Schaffer is a man who manages to get across the human struggle so well that the lyrics seem to get right to you, in any way. This album deals with all kinds of emotion and typically metal setting.

Overall Impression — 10
This album really does rock, it's the kind of album you really do have to listen to loud. The highlights for me are Iced Earth, Life And Death and When The Night Falls. The added feeling the keyboards give just adds to the whole thing. Making it a brilliant debut album from a band that has been going strong for years. I got this album in the Dark Genesis 5 CD box set, an absolute must for anyone who rekons there into Iced Earth or metal music in general.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    The music is GREAT, but the singer sounds like Ronnie James Dio if he took a hit off a helium filled ballon!