There Will Be Violence review by Impending Doom

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 20, 2010
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (11 votes)
Impending Doom: There Will Be Violence

Sound — 8
These guys seem more metalcore than deathcore. That being said, they did open for Whitechapel on the European leg of the Welcome To Hell tour. Impending Doom is a Christian "gorship" band. Meaning they worship god through their gore style of music. I personally love the band and this album is great. They are not really all that innovative, but I love this style of music. This album was produced by Tim Lambesis of As I Lay Dying at his studio. Tim also contributes vocals to "Orphans" and Vincent Bennett from The Acacia Strain also appears on "Peace Illusion".

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are faith oriented. It is shocking to me that they would have a song called, or even name their album "There Will Be Violence". I love the intro and in the middle if it the singer whispers... Silence... Before they kick off into the title track. The one thing I do notice, is that they kind of sound like As I Lay Dying, but maybe a bit heavier. The thing I love about deathcore/metalcore, is the musicianship. The guitar player is amazing and the drummer is awesome, while the bass player rounds everything out musically. The vocals are killer and keeps everything brutal.

Overall Impression — 8
Impending Doom are evolving and in the right direction. They are socially better than As I Lay Dying. There leaps and bounds better than say Suicide Silence or As Blood Runs Black. The standouts on this album are "There Will Be Violence", "Orphans", and "Peace Illusion". I really dig these guys and I am definitely gonna check out their newest offering. There is nothing that I personally dislike and I would definitely buy it again if I lost it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date