Clayman review by In Flames

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 25, 2000
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9 (90 votes)
In Flames: Clayman

Sound — 10
This is melodic death metal at its absolute finest. Clayman is one of my all-time favorite albums because of the fact that there simply is not a single bad song on the record. Jesper and Bjorn are still doing on this album what they do best and that is writing hard hitting riffs with incredibly melodic harmonies that compliment the song absolutely perfect. The band also makes more of a progression towards a more modern rock sound with the use of blast beats and other forms of heavier drumming. The only thing that is missing from this album is a cool instrumental but thats still not that big of a deal.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics on this album are extremely in depth. Anders Frieden has a way of taking a subject that seems very narrow at first and then makes it seem extremely broad through the use of his lyrics. Also the singing variations on this song are perfect. For instance the chorus on the Pinball Map sounds completely different in terms of vocals than anything else on the album. Instances like this occur throughout Clayman. Also there are perfect silences placed throughout. My personal favorite is on the song Clayman which occurs right before the chorus. It's these singing variations, in-depth lyrics, and heavy silences which make the vocals on this album top notch.

Overall Impression — 10
You can make a strong case for this being In Flames best album. It also stakes there claim as one of the best in the melodic death business. Some key songs on this album are Pinball Map, Only For the Weak, Clayman, Square Nothing. This album flows perfectly from beginning to end. If you're looking to get into metal(any kind not just melodic death), In Flames, or just a heavy form of music then you should definently check this album out.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date