Light Grenades review by Incubus

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 28, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.8 (274 votes)
Incubus: Light Grenades

Sound — 10
The five piece California-based band is back again with their follow up release to 2004's A Crow Left of the Murder: Light Grenades. This new CD brings a different kind of sound and style in general than their previous albums. As always, Incubus leaves a hint of what's to come in the previous albums and take ten steps further on their next. Light Grenades is by far their most intriguing and conceptual album up-to-date. It encompasses the thought of throwing good ideas instead of warfare to explode as "light". As seen from A Crow Left of the Murder, Light Grenades moves away from the DJ scratches and the jazzy bass (partly due to Dirk Lance's departure and arrival of The Root's Ben Kenney) and have brought in a more progressive sound such as the title track Light Grenades and Rogues. Influences that seemed to have been present in their album was in the waves of The Police. Mike Einziger blends his unique aresenal of effects with his skills at melodies and gives us an impressive display of guitar, and Ben Kenney is good at building ontop of Mike's Playing. DJ Kilmore broadened our ears with more than turntables, bring in rhodes, piano, and much more with excellence to least to say.

Lyrics — 10
Hands down, Brandon Boyd is something that is not new to the world of grace. This time around, Brandon writes about love and it's troubles and glories as well as very abstract and interesting concepts such as the title track Light Grenades. Brandon's vocals shine throughout the whole album and brings a lot of harmonies throughout some songs (which really works well with his voice.) No doubt that Brandon's voice has gone a long way since 1997's debut fast paced album S.C.I.E.N.C.E. or even as recent as 2001's melodical album Morning View. Musically and lyrically, he is a genius and builds a great chemistry with guitarist Mike Einziger.

Overall Impression — 10
Light Grenades has proven to us just how ever-changing Incubus is and pulls it off to our amazement. With Incubus, you can always expect the unexpected and by far, this has got to be Incubus's best album to date. Make Yourself and Morning View will most probably forever be memorable and probably one of their greatest works, but they are the building stones to Light Grenades. Songs such as Pendulous Threads, their single Anna Molly, Rogues, and Light Grenades show a more driven side to Incubus as other songs such as the 2 part song Earth to Bella and Paper Shoes show a more acoustic, clean sound that was never fully developed in other albums. It was a perfect mix of different styles and as they said it themselves, "it sounds like 13 different songs." Light Grenades is something that would not be great start for those who are new to Incubus, but for those who have heard their previous work, it will certainly not be a disappointment if you are open to their evolving sounds. It might take a while to kick in for some, but once it does, you don't want to get off the train. It is certainly one of the highlights in music of 2006 and is a must to hear. If this album was lost or stolen, I would definitely buy it again in a heartbeat. If you're looking to find yourself lost in a magnificent album, look no further and get Light Grenades.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date