Overgrown Eden review by InMe

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 22, 2003
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (16 votes)
InMe: Overgrown Eden

Sound — 9
An album of many interesting songs and sounds, particulary for an alternative post-grunge band with three members alone. The benefit of Overgrown Eden is that every song is distinctive and can be identified immediately, solely by their opening riffs and each of them have at least one type of dynamic to them with Simon making extensive use of drumbeats and rhythms, Joe's exploration of bass scales and fills and Dave's intuitive use of guitar riffs and effect pedals. Some songs blast through on pure adreneline like Underdose and Mosaic, some explore landscape like sounds like Wounds (water), Lava Twilight (warmth) and Icewarm (coldness) and others use dynamic shifts like Firefly and Natural. It's very hard to find the album boring for these reasons but Dave's seemingly uncontrolled nasal sounding vocal tone popping up occasionally in some songs may not be as appealing as the instrumentation but it definitely doesn't set the tone in general for the album as a whole.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics on Overgrown Eden may polarise listeners at times when skimming through the songs. Inme seem to be fixed on writing songs based around negative aspects of life (like all good post-grunge bands I guess) but don't stay focused on the same subject like a lame pop group. They sing about heartbreak, despair, acceptance, love and exploration, however while the topics are varied sometimes the lyrics tend to be a bit mundane. Firefly's repetitive chorus of "It's all over now, you killed me" among most of the song is probably the prime example of said lyrics but there are others like in Crushed Like Fruit with lines such as "My dream, to cruise through outer space and feel the breeze" are more meaningful and soulful to appreciate. As for Dave and Joe's vocals, the different harmonies work to a good degree and both singers made extensive use of their respective vocal ranges. As mentioned already, Dave's nasal voice can sound irritating at times but he combines his vocal melodies well with the instrumentation of each song. His intensity reaches a peak on Natural with a bridge containing death growling and screaming high and low pitched and reserves his tone of voice well on softer grungier songs like Icewarm and Lava Twilight.

Overall Impression — 9
01. Underdose: interesting opener powered by energetic instrumentation. 8/10 02. Firefly: tacky lyrics but cool use of effects and melodies. 7/10 03. Wounds: an underwater sounding ode to self loathing, nice blend of lyrics and music. 8/10 04. Lava Twilight: exceptional instrumentation and dynamics with curious lyrics on loneliness. 10/10 05. Natural: a notable synth intro/outro and bridge section of abrasive lyrics and guitars to an otherwise standard song with dual voice melodies. 8/10 06. Her Mask (p.a): a surprisingly powerful slow song in both lyrics and music that mixes well in dynamics. 9/10 07. Energy: haunting verses over flanger/phaser ladened verses are the most notable aspect of the song along with keyboard sounding vocal line during the chorus. 8/10 08. Crushed Like Fruit: a very riff based song that carries most the silent energy it contains in an abrasive way with some emotion pondering lyrics. 9/10 09. Icewarm: another slowish type song that seems to speak volumes in terms of despair and hurting with the lyrics coupled with cold and empty guitar harmonics and lonely bass lead verses (not as depressing to listen to as it sounds). 9/10 10. Trenches: the pinnicle of calmess on the album that may need patience to listen to with this uber slow number. 6/10 11. Neptune: a distinctive opening riff and a dark atmosphere shroud this one, the lyrics might resemble some weird metaphors for describing angst and heartbreak though. 8/10 12. Mosaic: probably the most energetic song to offer used to close the album, a good headbanger to sign off on. 9/10 It is rare to find an album of such experimentation from a simplistic power trio like InMe, it stands out more than any of their follow up albums for its variety of sound effects and songs dynamics. The band never reached a high enough stage for the amount of talent put into Overgrown Eden but it will remain a cult classic among post-grunge of the 21st centruy for those who are aware of it. I would recommend giving it a listen or even buying it for its Nirvana like sound shifts and progressive but simplistic experimentation, something that seems to be lost on bands nowadays who would rather blend in with the latest big thing than carve a unique and creative sound.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date