Brave New World review by Iron Maiden

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 30, 2000
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (95 votes)
Iron Maiden: Brave New World

Sound — 10
This is one of my personal favorite albums by Iron Maiden. Every CD by Maiden has a sound to all there songs, its like an emotion or story. This record is amazing and I would give it a definite 5. The lyrics and the sound that came across really struck me as amazing. To me, it has a soft tone under a heavy flow. It's hard to say, but it's definitly amazing and I must have to any Maiden fan.

Lyrics — 8
This album was written as usual by Steve Harris, but in the midst of writing it, his father died. "Blood Brothers" is the song he wrote for his dad, but I think the feeling comes across in a lot of the other songs too. The lyrics are very expressive and very powerful, and flow really well. Harris has always wrote good lyrics, but I think he really took it upon himself to write good lyrics for this CD.

Overall Impression — 10
They did a perfect job of keeping the same great tone through all the songs, but yet each one sounds different than the last. "Brave New World" and "Blood Brothers" expresses a more "soft tone" so to speak, and "The Mercenary" and "Fallen Angel" has that rough hard sound that you blow your speakers with. Some songs run a bit long, but if you think the song is good, then your set. This is a kick ass CD and I would give two thumbs up to anyone who is considering to buy it. If you want a true insight listen to it yourself and make your own review. Rock on.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date