Death On The Road review by Iron Maiden

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 30, 2005
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 9 (92 votes)
Iron Maiden: Death On The Road

Sound — 7
Death on the Road is Maiden's latest live album, recorded on their tour supporing Dance Of Death. The band sounds great here, the guitars bass and drums are all as frantic and precise as ever. Bruce's vocals are starting to show signs of wear and tear though, prominent in such songs as Lord of the Flies and Rainmaker. The solos done by the boys Adrian, Janick, and Dave are all extremely well done, most of them even changed up a bit from their album versions. You can faintly hear the crowd singing along to every song, from classics like Iron Maiden, recent concert favourites such as Brave New World and Fear of the Dark, and even the songs from Dance Of Death.

Lyrics — 7
Maiden shines with lyrics in this concert, as usual. Brave New World is a personal favourite, but some songs just aren't that great lyrically in my opinion (Wildest Dreams, Lord Of The Flies).

Overall Impression — 8
This is a fine live album, however if you own all or even one of their previous live albums it may not be worth it. Many of the songs have been on all of Iron Maiden's live albums (Iron Maiden, Run To The Hills, The Trooper, Wrathchild, The Number Of The Beast, 2 Minutes To Midnight), but if you're a fan of the newer material a lot ofit is also showcased here. The crowd is in full force at this show and is very full of energy, even during the rather confusing opener Wildest Dreams. The most impressive songs here are the powerful rendition of Paschendale, a slightly altered Lord Of The Flies, and Journeyman in acoustic form. If this were stolen, I would get another copy but only because I'm an Iron Maiden collector. I'd reccomend this only to collectors or people who like Iron Maiden's newer stuff as opposed to the older.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date