Live After Death review by Iron Maiden

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 14, 1985
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.7 (35 votes)
Iron Maiden: Live After Death

Sound — 10
All right, this was on the World Slavery tour, 1985. Therefore they play four songs from Powerslave. This is obviously earlier in their career and so there's no difficulty in getting at least one song from each album. Of course, the sound is excellent. Both guitars and the bass are equally audible and the drums and vocals are put in nicely as well.

Lyrics — 10
Adrian does a lot of backup vocals here, though I'm not so sure about 'Arry. Adrian's a good singer. But nothing compared to Bruce, who all should be able to agree is one of the greatest singers in heavy metal. Lyrics are obviously pretty much the same from the albums and thus excellent.

Overall Impression — 10
This is a two disc set. The first disc was at Long Beach, and I believe the second at Hammersmith. The second contains all the enhanced CD things for your computer, because it has like five tracks (they say that the second disc was something they threw in for the fans back home, who were with them from the beginning. There's one song from each of the first four albums + another song from NOTB.) Disc one's got the intro (speech by Winston Churchill about WWII) and "Aces High", "2 Minutes to Midnight", "The Trooper", "Revelations", "Flight of Icarus", "Rime of the Ancient Mariner", "Powerslave", "The Number of the Beast", "Hallowed be Thy Name", "Iron Maiden", "Run to the Hills", and "Running Free". Disc two contains "Wrathchild", "Children of the Damned", "22 Acacia Avenue", "Die With Your Boots On", and "The Phantom Of The Opera". Excellent setlist, as you can see. Most of the tracks are totally perfect, but "Rime" has the tape for the middle sequence off just a bit (not like that really matters). Excellent sound, lyrics, singing, and everything. Hmm. Sounds like one of the greatest live albums in metal? It is.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date