Live After Death [DVD] review by Iron Maiden

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 4, 2008
  • Sound: 10
  • Content: 10
  • Production Quality: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (85 votes)
Iron Maiden: Live After Death [DVD]

Sound — 10
There just aren't a lot of bands with the showmanship that embodied Iron Maiden during the 1980s, and thankfully we get the opportunity to relive those years through the band's latest DVD Live After Death. The new release looks back to what could certainly be called Iron Maiden's most grueling tour and features 2 disks that are a compendium to the double album of the same name. A lot of us out there feel that you really couldn't go wrong with Maiden most of the time, but Life After Death is the ultimate in terms of a visual greatest-hits package. The first disk covers the 1984-1985 World Slavery Tour, which pretty much set the standard for touring bands everywhere in terms of it's duration. The featured concert on the disk was filmed over 4 days at Long Beach Arena, with a setlist that included classics like The Trooper, 2 Minutes To Midnight, The Flight Of Icarus, and Run To The Hills. These are all songs that most Maiden fans embrace, and the band never disappoints with it's live performance. In fact, seeing the energy and flawless sound of Bruce Dickinson and the boys is a true testament to why they have become legends in the metal world. The second disk is worth the price of the DVD itself, with a full-length documentary called The History Of Iron Maiden: Part II. It goes beyond the tour and tells what exactly was going on behind the scenes -- whether that be getting drunk and playing Connect Four, making the video for 2 Minutes To Midnight, or the feeling the pressure of the unrelenting World Slavery Tour. There are interesting stories from pretty much every member of Maiden, and you certainly get a better idea of what the personalities are like within the band.

Content — 10
As was mentioned earlier, there is a lot to be seen and heard in Live After Death. Not only is the entire first disk devoted to the World Slavery Tour (in which Bruce Dickinson proves that he is the ultimate frontman; that man never tires of lifting his arms up and down), the second disk offers even more live footage. The famous Rock In Rio concert from 1985 runs around 50 minutes, while the documentary Behind The Iron Curtain (approx 57 minutes) contains 6 performances. Also included on the second disk is a promo video titled 'Ello Texas, which although a little grainier in quality, features some memorable interviews with Steve Harris and Bruce Dickinson.

Production Quality — 9
We might not have had HD cameras back in the '80s, but the footage from the World Slavery Tour doesn't need to rely on the cream of the crop equipment. You get an entertaining show, and more importantly, each band member is shown several times over. The camera work is clean, steady, and to the point, so you're not getting overly artistic footage that distracts from the performance. The video on Life After Death is far from being sub par and after all this time is still highly professional in quality.

Overall Impression — 10
The main feature is the 90-minute long World Slavery concert that features 13 songs, but you don't just get classic songs on Life After Death. The documentaries should be just as interesting to most Maiden fans, and finding out all the behind-the-scenes dirt that went on during the tour will likely make you want to re-watch the live show all over again. Even if the DVD didn't include 2 disks, either one would have made a pretty essential piece to add to the Maiden library. If you are someone who longs for the classic songwriting and performance ability of early metal bands, Live After Death should be on your DVD wish list.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date