Powerslave review by Iron Maiden

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 3, 1984
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.2 (129 votes)
Iron Maiden: Powerslave

Sound — 10
Amazing guitar playing, awesome drumming and great bass lines. No need to say more. Ok, maybe a little more. The production and sound on the album is really good, nothing to complain. Especially nice drumming can be heard on Aces High and Powerslave which also has one of Maiden's most beautiful solos ever.

Lyrics — 10
Lyrics are great here, 2 Minutes To Midnight is a good example. The lyrics fit in to the music perfectly, which can be heard on the 13 minute epic Rime Of The Ancient Mariner. Singing? Well what can I say, they got one of the best singers in metal history: Bruce Dickinson! His high notes and screams are just perfection.

Overall Impression — 10
It rocks alright. The fact is that this is one of the best metal recordings of all time. The album starts off with 2 killer tracks, Aces High and 2 Minutes To Midnight, both singles of the album. Then follows a nice instrumental Losfer Words, Flash Of The Blade and The Duellists. All of them, good songs, but not as the 2 opening songs. Then it's time for Back In The Village which is the best song in the "middle part" of the album. Then the 2 ending songs Powerslave and Rime Of The Ancient Mariner are both masterpieces and two of Maidens best songs. So what can I say more than buy this if you like heavy music at all!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date