Miami review by Izzy Stradlin

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 30, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (2 votes)

Sound — 9
This is perhaps Izzy's hardest hitting album, if not at least sharing that title with his previous release to this, Like A Dog. The album directly picks up where LAD left off, so much so it could be 'Like A Dog Act II'. The album was recorded late 2005/early 2006, with Izzy on guitar and vocals, Juju Hounds buddy Rick Richards on lead and slide guitar, Jt Longoria on bass, Taz Bentley (of The Burden Brothers) on drums and Joey Huffman on keyboard. The album was released soley on iTunes. Shortly after it's release, 10 of the 11 tracks were remastered and rereleased, and having heard both versions, it sure is noticeable. Much heavier, and the instruments are much clearer to the ear. It's a great rock record, suitable for those long drives, or a great record to just bum around the house to.

Lyrics — 8
Delving into the roots of good, hard American country rock, not only does it deliver a solid sound, but also simple yet meaningful lyrics, courtesy of Izzy himself. Izzy was the main writer in former band Guns N' Roses, having had a part in the writing for well over 75% of Appetite For Destruction, GN'R Lies and the Use Your Illusion double album, and you have to wonder whether, should Izzy had stayed in GN'R, would he have written more classics? He obviously left his impression on his bandmates, as Slash, Duff and Matt Sorum asked him to join what is now known as Velvet Revolver, and he is also rumoured to be involved in the writing process of the ever-delayed new GNR record 'Chinese Democracy'. The album speaks a lot of life as a relaxed man, with simple concepts tackled. However, the lyrics do leave a lot to the imagination, which is sometimes just as important, as everyone can take their own interpretation of the lyrics. Nothing earth-shattering, but his audience doesn't need that.

Overall Impression — 9
Musically, this is Izzy's best work, with all the instruments relating to each other, and with the new addition of keyboards and organs, there is much more depth and strength. The most impressive songs are undoubtedly 'Let Go' with it's brilliant drum solo closing the song, 'Buildings In The Sky' with it's catchy opening, 'Juniors Song' with it's unique spoken dialogue, and 'Everythings Alright' with it's epic, magnificent solo that Slash would be proud of. However, the album could have a few more tracks, but as with 7 of Izzy's 8 albums, it sticks to the running theme of 10 tracks. For those loyal Izzy fans out there, this is well worth the download.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date