Further Complications review by Jarvis Cocker

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 18, 2009
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 6.2 (6 votes)
Jarvis Cocker: Further Complications

Sound — 7
Jarvis Cocker's latest solo venture "Further Complications" is a witty, self indulgent but truly an enjoyable listen, it's worth the look. The album is dominated by simple but effective riffs drenched in fuzz. Jarvis's vocals are at their best. However it is only when Jarvis goes into the slower more somber pieces when this album truly shines with tracks such as Left Overs revealing the subtle nature of his lingual delivery, and the beautifully uttered lyrics that make sure to capture your imagination. The instrumental track Pilchard is at first a self indulgent adventure, but however provides a welcome relief after Jarvis's meanderings on Angela that boasts the most squeezing fuzz riff. The swaggering atmosphere of this LP makes Further Complications a worthy follow up to 2006's Jarvis.

Lyrics — 8
"Further Complications" hosts some of Cocker's best lyrics such as the track Left Overs which has Jarvis at his most hushed. The lyrics "Come and help yourself to leftovers, Got a little surplus love and affection" and "I know I ain't no eligible bachelor, this is no mouthwatering proposition." Jarvis manages to sing like he's 22 again not the now going strong 45 year old. Cocker pleads with his tongue in cheek vocals and desirable delivery seen in Fuckingsong where his swagger is unmistakable providing rhythmic seizures to the music. His vocals offer the perfect backdrop to a party gone wrong, where the always brooding band plays the lover.

Overall Impression — 7
"Further Complications" has Jarvis's fastest delivery and it almost seems unnecessary when you have tracks such as slush which has Jarvis's most relaxed delivery and poise. While other tracks such as Caucasian Blues seem hurried and rushed. While the pace through "Further Complications" is unending there are brief pauses where Cocker takes the time to pause over his vocals creating the most delicious delivery that you would savor such as fine wine or various fine food. "Further Complications" is a welcome return but leaves the listener wanting more, the appetite not being sated. However Cocker's second solo LP contains his most witty lyrics and some true masterpieces that will surely have the listener coming back for more! $$ Matthew Roche

0 comments sorted by best / new / date