Jason Aldean review by Jason Aldean

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 26, 2005
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7 Good
  • Users' score: 7.3 (4 votes)
Jason Aldean: Jason Aldean

Sound — 7
In 2005, a singer from Macon, Georgia named Jason Aldean released his debut self-titled album. The album spawned three hit singles in "Hicktown", "Amarillo Sky", and "Why". On the strength of those singles, Aldean's album unexpectedly went gold and he won CMA Best New Male Vocalist. Since then, he has released three more albums and has become country's new superstar. His country is actually less country and more southern rock. Growing up in Macon, Jason absorbed the influences of groups like The Allman Brothers. He has a competent band backing him up on this album. The opener, "Hicktown" has a big rock quality to it. "Lonesome USA" feels like an old-time country song with twang-y guitars. "You're The Love I Wanna Be In" is another southern rock tune. Aldean recorded a song called "Asphalt Cowboy" for this album that has been performed by Blake Shelton among others. The overall sound is rock-inflected country music.

Lyrics — 7
The lyrics are cliche. "Hicktown" (of course) is about a small town, "Amarillo Sky" is about farmers, "Asphalt Cowboy" is about a trucker, and every other song is about love. He didn't write these songs, so you can't really blame Jason for the lyrics since he was essentially told what to record. As for it's singing, it's a bit nasally, kind of twang-y. He's not the best singer, but he does an effective enough job.

Overall Impression — 7
This album is Jason's debut, and while it's not great, it's not crap either. Modern country today borrows heavily from pop and rock, but Jason's rock-inflected country still sounds refreshing. I'd commender it to someone who likes some rock in their country. If it were lost/stolen I'd replace it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date