Grace review by Jeff Buckley

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 23, 1994
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.8 (90 votes)
Jeff Buckley: Grace

Sound — 10
Grace was Buckley's only full length album in his tragically short career, but it is a masterpiece. It is a blend of styles, not confined to one single genre. The production of the legacy edition is a whole lot better than the original version though, you can hear the instruments and his voice more clearly. It's an emotional album, a real experience, and every time you listen to it, it gets better, and you find something new.

Lyrics — 10
As it says in the cover slip: 'Buckley could hit any note imaginable, musical or emotional. ' His voice is brilliant. The lyrics fit the music, and while they have meaning, they don't say it blatantly. They mean what you feel when listening to the songs, and the words and music combined simply pierce into your soul. In a lot of the songs there is an irony in the lyrics, or just the feel in the song that makes yourself wonder why he had to die. For those of you who know how he died: "Asleep in the sand with the ocean washing over" - Dreambrother. "Couldn't awake from the nightmare that sucked me in and pulled me under" - So Real.

Overall Impression — 10
There is no album that is on the same level as Grace. His voice is greater than any other voice, and the music more powerful than any other music. The most impressive songs would be Mojo Pin, Grace, Last Goodbye, So Real, Hallelujah, Lover You should've Come Over, and Corpus Cristi Carol. Eternal life is a bit disappointing seeing as the live version was so good. If they were stolen, I'd definitely buy the legacy edition again, it is well worth it, and I might buy the original album just for the sake of having it.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    This album does indeed show a true genious at work. The voice, the lyrics, the sound. This was a true musician! And the album itself, wow!