Blues review by Jimi Hendrix

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 26, 1994
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.9 (17 votes)
Jimi Hendrix: Blues

Sound — 9
James Marshall Hendrix probably would never been the legendary Jimi Hendrix had it not been for the blues. This compilation of his blues recordings, many covers of his favorites, shows the listener just how influential blues music was on his own material. Searing, and yet for him, effortless, guitar-playing pours from the speakers. True blues is about expressing the soul, and it is as if Jimi is pouring his heart out through his guitar. "Jimi Hendrix: Blues" illustrates the true measure of talent this man had. Thank you Jimi, for your music, and thank you J.J. Cale, Muddy Waters, Albert King, Memphis Slim, Sonny Boy Williamson, John Lee Hooker, and all the other original and traditional bluesmen for inspiring such a legendary man and artist.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics and singing is truely soulful. That's all that can be said.

Overall Impression — 10
Catfish Blues, Once I Had A Woman, Bleeding Heart, and both versions of Hear My Train A Comin' are must hears. No other blues album can compare to this one. It is a must have.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Its fantastic!! I usually dont like these "greatest blues CDs ever" lists but if Id make one this one would be at least in the top three. And must not be missed in any JH collection. 10 points
    This is a good album, but come on, it is just a recording of some live blues by the Man. Almost all the blues live performances have the same energy and jam sessions. It is a must have as this is the only way to hear him live. That apart, its not all that great. "Catfish Blues" and "Jelly 292" are great.....