Live At Woodstock review by Jimi Hendrix

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 6, 1999
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 9.1 (14 votes)
Jimi Hendrix: Live At Woodstock

Sound — 8
The sound of this live double album ranges from excellent to average. Jimi himself apologizes for being out of tune after a sub-standard "Spanish Castle Magic." Hendrix's connects to blues roots through "Red House" and "Villanova Juction" as well as showcasing his incredible rock anthems such as "Purple Haze," "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" and "Jam Back At The House." While I find the majority of CD 1 slightly dreary (exceptions: "Lover Man" and "Jam Back At The House"), CD 2 really takes off, Hendrix's pioneering guitar effects creates a truly amazing performance, most notably "Star Spangled Banner," "Purple Haze" and "Villanova Junction."

Lyrics — 6
Lyrics were never Hendrix's forte and his singing is in all honesty woeful, but of course the reason you would like Hendrix is for his creative and legendary guitar talents. Some of the highlights on the double CD are the instrumentals, where Jimi can focus solely on his guitar pyrotechnics.

Overall Impression — 8
If you are any sort of Hendrix fan or appreciate exceptional guitar work, then buy this album, if only for CD 2. Listen to how Hendrix attempts to simulate bombs falling and exploding on the guitar solo "Star Spangled Banner" truly amazing stuff! Unfortunately, not the most polished of perfomances - some tracks are clearly unprepared, but nonetheless I would certainly buy this one again if it was lost.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date