Futures review by Jimmy Eat World

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 19, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 6.7 Neat
  • Users' score: 8.6 (44 votes)
Jimmy Eat World: Futures

Sound — 8
This album splendidly showcases Jimmy Eat Worlds sound, from adolescent romperstompers like "Pain" to the contagious emo ponderings of "Work" and "Polaris." Although it starts to deteriorate towards the end (Nothing Wrong is as bland an album filler as you'll find) this is a solid outing for Arizonas finest.

Lyrics — 6
Lyrically this album is nowhere near as shimmeringly poetic as "Clarity" or as meaningful as "Bleed American," it seems that they are perhaps running out of steam, reverting to simple lyrics about drugs and small town escapes. It's a little too Emo by numbers and has lost its sense of honesty. It seems too corporate and contrived, a far cry from "Clarity."

Overall Impression — 6
Better than Static Prevails but it loses out to their other albums, Clarity wins by a mile and should definetely be considered the bands finest hour, then "Bleed American" and this trails in third. Still a good album but this once great band seem to sinking into MOR mediocracy.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date