Static Prevails review by Jimmy Eat World

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1996
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (7 votes)
Jimmy Eat World: Static Prevails

Sound — 8
This is the first Jimmy record on a major label and as such it is a little raw in sound. The singing on this album is not your traditional Jimmy sound of smooth vocals. However, the band in this album makes use of some great guitar intros and chord progessions.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics of the album are deep and about many topics. The lyrics fit the music pretty well considering this is Jimmy's first time on a major label. The lyrics if "Clarie" are amazing. However, again the sound of the vocals is a little raw sounding and someitmes flat and dull sounding. I feel that the dullness of the vocals is made up for by the guitar in most parts.

Overall Impression — 8
This is the first major record that Jimmy made and is therefore a little different than the normal JEW record. If you are a big fan of clarity and Jimmy's other records this is a great buy. If you are more of a Bleed American fan I would think twice before buying this. Definenitly the best songs are "Thinking, That's All," "Claire," "Digits" and "Anderson Mesa."

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    rating of 8!? this album is one of their best, if not the best! i don't find the vocals at any point are dull. personally i'd give this album 10/10, can't get enough of it! i agree with you about -> "If you are more of a Bleed American fan I would think twice before buying this"