Engines Of Creation review by Joe Satriani

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 14, 2000
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (38 votes)
Joe Satriani: Engines Of Creation

Sound — 9
Joe Satriani's usual great sound quality and clarity are present throughout this experimental and daring album. Leading into the 21st century, the general concensus was that popular music and virtuosic music could not mix. Joe shatters this conventional train of thought with his release of "Engines Of Creation." Purists would argue that it deviates too much from the shred genre that Joe helped promote and inspire. From an open-minded persective, the album features some classic Joe although there is definitely less of the high tempo soloing that Joe is known for. "Borg Sex" and "Flavor Crystal" are the definitive techno tracks that easily went commercial and mainstream (I can't remeber how many people have "Borg Sex" as their ringtone, yet can't name the artists).

Lyrics — 9
Lyrics? Satch almost never has lyrics as he is an instrumentalist. The variety in tone, timbre and melodic structure renders lyrics unnessesary for Joe. The songs of this album are feel-good and some tell stories through the mood of the music.

Overall Impression — 9
Absolutely love this album despite it's direction away from classic Satch. "Engines Of Creation" the track was one of the most unique and soothing tracks in the album while "Borg Sex" made me want to dance. This grammy-winner is eveyrthing you could want from Joe and a whole lot more.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date