Flying In A Blue Dream review by Joe Satriani

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1989
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.1 (32 votes)
Joe Satriani: Flying In A Blue Dream

Sound — 10
Flying In A Blue Dream is considered to be Joe Satriani at his best. The music on this album is incredible. On this particular album he shows that he can in fact sing as well as play the guitar. Although his singing is in fact no where near his guitar playing. The styles used on this guitar are instrumental, rock, hard rock, fusion, pop/rock, and guitar virtuoso. The music really makes you feel what is being played at the time. On the track Day At The Beach (New Rays From An Ancient Sun) you really feel like you are on the beach listening to it. That song can make you picture the waves of the ocean crashing in the sand.

Lyrics — 8
Joe Satriani sings to six of the songs on this album, thus breaking from his all-instrumental roots. The singing is not spectacular but it fits the guitar playing well enough to get the point across. Songs such as Can't Slow Down and Strange show that he can sing well enough. Joe also does really well on the bluesy-hard rocking track Big Bad Moon.

Overall Impression — 10
In all Flying In A Blue Dream is a really well-rounded album. Each track brings a certain aspect to the album but Strange, Can't Slow Down, and Back to Shalla-Bal are the three most impressive tracks on the album. The sounds on the album are really what you would expect from Joe Satriani. This album will hit your certain mood with eah of its songs. This is a definite must buy for and Satriani fan.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date