The Extremist review by Joe Satriani

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 21, 1992
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 7.8 (62 votes)
Joe Satriani: The Extremist

Sound — 10
The Extremist album is one of the best albums that I've bought from Joe. It has one of his best songs on it like The Extremist, Friends, Summer Song and in my oppinion the best insrumental ballade Cryin'. Than there is the song war, which just has this grooving theme in it. And Rubinas Blue Sky Happines, which has a great acoustic guitar riff. Thse are my favourite songs on the album. I don't really like Why, Motorcycle Driver and Tears In The Rain that much. And it finishes with a song called New Blues which has this great repetive tune in it.

Lyrics — 10
No lyrics. But the average must not suffer so I give it a 10.

Overall Impression — 10
This CD looks just so simple (the covers and the whole CD design) but it hides great musical ideas in it it. It's really versatile, it has those ultrafast Satch solos and also very gental and soft tunes in it. This really is one of the best albums to get to know what Joe's music is like.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date