Panda Fox review by Joe's Asian Fetish

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 5.5 (2 votes)
Joe's Asian Fetish: Panda Fox

Sound — 9
As a debut album, this release is very strong. With varying genres from southern rock, to indie, to pop punk and even rap hardcore in the case of one song, the band show great musical diversity and also ability in the way they create the music and play it. The band are tight with each other and bring out some catchy and enjoyable songs. Highly enjoyable is the cover version of A-Ha's Take On Me, which they have developed into their own, giving it a very Blink 182 sound. Overall the band show their pop punk roots in their music, but skillfully work their way around pigeonholing themselves on the first album, but expect more pop punk songs on the next release.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics faulter throughout the album. The two slow songs on the album, particularly "Never Got To" come with very well written and heartfelt lyrics to go with excellent music, however the songs "She Said" and "Sex Jelly" come up as ones that could have been improved lyrically, as in the case of "Sex Jelly" the music which goes behind it is wonderful in its Beastie Boys sound. Vocally, the singer is strong. Although he does not quite pull off the proffessional and trained singer sound, it doesn't matter. His most frequent range is fairly low, yet he can belt out much more punk rock sounding vocals when required. Most of the backing vocals were clearly done by the lead singer, although when backing vocals did turn up, they were a great addition and more of them on the next record will make for good listening. It was nice to hear all band members taking a turn on "Take On Me."

Overall Impression — 9
"Never Got To" and "Take On Me" come out as the strongest songs on the entire album. They are very well arranged, and in the case of "Never Got To", just very well written and composed. The good thing about this album is that it can be listened to for hours on end. It is quite short, coming it at 8 tracks, yet the diversity and catchiness makes it easy to listen to and a very good album. This bodes well for a future release.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date