DC review by John Frusciante

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 14, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 9.5 (18 votes)
John Frusciante: DC

Sound — 8
This is John Frusciante's third release of the six album project he undertook in 2004. The two albums released prior to DC EP were "The Will to Death" and "Ataxia". While DC EP has little in common with the experimental tones of Ataxia, it does sound very similar to the straightforward melodies of The Will to Death. DC EP's four songs are built around the solid structure of John Frusciante's vocals, guitar and bass work and the drumming of Jerry Bushe. The album itself is perhaps one of John Frusciante's most accessible due to his god-given gift of belting out outstanding, honest melodies and it is this which keeps DC EP fresh and easy to listen to all the way from start to finish. From the very first song, dissolve, John's fuzzed up guitar blasts out a recurring riff which is then combined with both the bass and drums to mesmerising effect. The record sounds incredibly live and warm, just like John is sitting beside you which might not please fans of John's more polished albums such as Shadows Collide With People, but production aside these songs are as good as any John has released.

Lyrics — 7
John's lyrics are never straight forward and those on DC EP are no different. Several meanings can be taken away from each song and it is this universal aspect of Frusciante's lyrics which makes them so appealing. A singer songwriter in his own right, John does not conform to traditional themes when writing his lyrics but still manages to keep them personal by hiding his emotions behind a shroud of metaphors. Johns voice has also become notably stronger since such albums as Niandra Lades & Usually Just a T-Shirt, and he is now much more capable of reaching higher and lower notes and there is no better example than on the track repeating. However it can be argued that while John's voice has become more mature and confident, it has lost some of it's emotion from his earlier work.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall DC EP is on par with most other John Frusciante albums but is rather straighforward than most of his other work but this by no means is a bad thing as it shows a more relaxed John who sounds as if he is having a great time recording. The album is a great place to start if you like Johns work in the Red Hot Chilli Peppers as this is one of John's more accessible albums. A great all round album by the innovative musician who clearly enjoys his day job.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date