Will To Death review by John Frusciante

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 22, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (33 votes)
John Frusciante: Will To Death

Sound — 8
The sound on this Frusciante release is less 'Produced' that Shadows Collide With People. And features songs as old as 3 years old on it. This record is also a very different mood to 'Shadows' and I admit, whilst I'm a Frusciante fan, it took some getting used to.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are as always stunning. John's a very talented songwriter, this only really shines through on his Solo records. They leave alot open to interpretation, especially in "Mirror" and "The Will To Death" two of the stand-out tracks on the album.

Overall Impression — 10
I love this record because it's a John Frusciante record! And I don't think it could be pulled off by a lesser, or superior for that matter, musician. You'll know its a John Frusciante record right from the word go, not many artists in my opinion do that. Stand out tracks are "A Doubt", "Loss", "Far Away", "The Will To Death", "Mirror".

0 comments sorted by best / new / date