Double Fantasy review by John Lennon

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 17, 1980
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.6 (5 votes)
John Lennon: Double Fantasy

Sound — 8
After five years out of the music scene and being a 'house-husband' John Lennon returned in full force in November 1980. Overall it's a great record, very different from most of his other work but still with those great lyrics and music that we all love from John. The atmosphere of the album is quite poppy, but there's never anything wrong with a good pop song. The record alternates John and Yoko tracks, but if you're not a fan of Yoko Ono you can just skip ahead to the next John song. The sound of this record is very 1980, but it stands the test of time.

Lyrics — 9
John Lennon is a lyrical mastermind. Highlights have got to be 'Watching The Wheels' or 'Beautiful Boy', they're just great works of music and the tone of the songs really reflect where John was at in his life. '(Just Like) Starting Over' is a bit of an ode to the fact that he re-starting his music career, however he never had the chance after this record. The words really make this album what it is.

Overall Impression — 9
I think 'Double Fantasy' is totally up there with the greatest Lennon works of all time. Behind 'Plastic Ono Band' and 'Imagine' maybe. The only thing that truly annoys me is the Yoko compositions. They really hurt the record and make it a turn off to the casual John fan or the first time listener. For sure though 'Double Fantasy' is a record everybody should listen to in their lifetime.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date