Imagine review by John Lennon

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 8, 1971
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.2 (27 votes)
John Lennon: Imagine

Sound — 10
This Lennon's most accomplished solo album. After the Beatles spilt Lennnon remained in the public eye as a large protester of the Vietnam War and World Peace. He and his wife Yoko, in the summer of 1970, the two of them called up some friends of theirs to help record John's new album. There friends included Phil Spector and the late George Harrison (yes the former Beatle). The music here is very spontaneous and free. With styles ranging from angry rock n' roll to soft lovely ballads. Phil Spector's "Wall Of Sound" technique produced the album, giving it a very homegrown feel. This is my favourite Lennon work.

Lyrics — 10
He is a lyrical genius. From the clever "Crippled Inside" to the beautiful "Imagine," John Lennon has proven that he is a musical mastermind to be reckoned with. Every lyric on the record is great. Highlights include songs like "Gimme Some Truth," "Jealous Guy," "How Do You Sleep," and as already said, "Crippled Inside." If you're a songwriter, pick this album up and listen to the way the music goes with the lyrics.

Overall Impression — 10
This album compares very very well with it's other counterparts. In my opinion, it's better than Paul McCartney's "McCartney" album of the previous year. This marks the move for Lennon from ex-Beatle to credible solo performer. He didn't need the Beatles to back him up to create great music at all. If I lost this album I would most definately replace it or steal it back. Buy Imagine today!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date