First Contact / Last Warning review by Jupiter Society

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (2 votes)
Jupiter Society: First Contact / Last Warning

Sound — 8
Jupiter Society is a band(with the loosest possible meaning of that word)comprised of 14 musicians, some of them, like Mats Leven and Leif Edling are best know for their work in various Swedish bands. The rest may not be that well know but their talent is shown on their respective tracks, each song has a different line up of band members recording it. Carl Westholm is the man behind Jupiter Society, he wrote most of the music and a good part of the lyrics as well, he is also the main keyboardist on the album. The album itself is fairly progressive but its focus is not making complex guitar melodies, the guitar is for the most part a rhythm instrument, the main focus are keyboards over the usual guitar/bass/drums sections. Now having said all of this you might think that this album and band are all over the place and that the song are tacked on. No. First Contact//Last Warning is probably one of the best examples of thinking outside the box. The songs usually start with a keyboard melody but then slowly progress, as the rest of the instruments join in, into truly epic sections. I personally like the approach taken, it's a break from a usually guitar dominated genre. If you are already making progressive music or progressive metal why not take a step beyond the usual?

Lyrics — 9
Another epic component of First Contact//Last Warning are monumental lyrics. Based heavily on Sci/Fi notions they concern space travel, abductions and other fairly dark themes. If you take a look at the first verse of "Presumed Dying" you will see just why the lyrics are so epic: "There was a big explosion threatening to break the hull At first just emptiness, we could just hear our breath We didn't know what hit us, even less what to expect We had nowhere to hide and time was running out" There is a little story behind every song shown in the side notes, this will help to get your head around the lyrics. On First Contact//Last Warning there are three lead vocalists, Mats Leven, Nils Eriksson and ivin Tronstad. Along with the lead vocals there is quite a bit of sampled vocals done by Carl Westholm.

Overall Impression — 8
Despite the number of musicians and the variations between them First Contact//Last Warning is for the most part cohesive and enjoyable, however the relatively rare occasions when the album falls apart stick out more and more as the album reaches its finale. You can not really listen to First Contact//Last Warning in a leisurely manner, while brushing your teeth or something like that, this album requires your full attention and you have to listen to it from track one to the last in its entirety or you will miss its meaning.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date