The End of Heartache review by Killswitch Engage

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 21, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.8 (86 votes)
Killswitch Engage: The End of Heartache

Sound — 10
Amazing guitar work from the boys of KSE as always, they come back strong after having a peacefull departure with their old singer and Howards fills in great. Jesse acutally guest apperas on the 2nd track of the album. The production quality is outstanding. Now this may be the same forumula they of "metalcore" that we heard on KSE and Alive Or Just Breathing but there is a difference between beating a dead horse and riding it to victory every time. To top that off KSE really founded metalcore and the genre has grown into America's current metal musical fad. But they arent copy cats they are the band that all other metalcore acts are copying and the music is as always original and defined with awsome guitar riffing, accesible rythems and intertwined melody which draws the listner in and doesnt let go untill the last note on the albums final song. Simply to put along with KSE's other two albums this is the gold standard for metalcore.

Lyrics — 10
Ok you have a singer like Jesse Leach whose voice is amazing. So he leaves and you have some big shoes to fill. I mean very few bands can ever come back strong after loosing a singer just look at Sepultura. But KSE out does everyone and Howard Jones comes along and the band comes back with might just be more determination, more drive and a better vocalist if either of those 3 are even possible! Howards vocals are awsome ranging from his high screams and low growls to his deep booming voice layered into an element that brings the already infamous KSE to a new level of brilliance.

Overall Impression — 10
Ok Overcast gave birth to metalcore but KSE redifined it, perfected it, established it and brought it to the mainstream and to the top. And end of heartache is deff their best effort to date and I would have to ultimately say the best effort to come out of the metalcore scene. Every song on the album is good especially When Darkness Falls, Rose Of Sharyn, World Ablaze and Hope. Really every song is a classic no fillers here boys every song hits home no hit and miss patterns and you wont find yourself listening to the 1st 2 songs and skipping to the last 2 and forgetting the others in between. There arent many things to dislike about this album only thing I can bring up is their failrue to change their sound but thats not bad at all with a sound liek this do u want the band to change no. If I lost this album Id pick it up again for sure. Get this album its worth the money to buy it.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date