Issues review by Korn

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 22, 1999
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.5 (72 votes)
Korn: Issues

Sound — 10
First of all, the guitars are absolutely amazing in every track. The sound of munky and head has changed in every album and it has changed again. The two guitars achieve very catchy riffs and produce amazing effects. Top marks. Fieldy's bass hasn't changed much, although in some songs his bass isn't so thick and heavy. David drums well and the drumkit and bass colaborate well. Jonathan Davis' voice is wicked as usual.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics here are very good, and not all of the tunes are about Davis' childhood (unlike previous albums). However, davis' is a little bitter and I feel he should start writing more about other aspects of his life and not just about his childhood. But the lyrics are good anyway.

Overall Impression — 10
This is very different to what I expected from Korn. The sound in this album isn't so thick and in some cases the band experiments with hip-hop, rap and alternative rock. This is a must buy.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date