Hearts Of The Innocent review by Kutless

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 21, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.4 (56 votes)
Kutless: Hearts Of The Innocent

Sound — 10
The new album from Kutless Hearts of the Innocent starts up from where Sea of Faces left off and has definitely improved their already great sound to a far more improved sound. The songs abound with better song arrangements and more interesting riffs and more prominent leads. There's even a few solos on the album and while not up to Hendrix, Jimmy Page, or Slash standards, it makes the songs more interesting. On a note, the sound is definitely heavier than Sea of Faces and most certainly Strong Tower, but it doesn't overpower the songs or their messages. Some notable songs include Hearts of the Innocent, Shut Me Out, Smile, Promise of a Lifetime, Million Dollar Man, and Legacy among others.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are suitable for the music, nothing superb and nothing bad. They go along with the songs just fine and are certainly good enough to sing along to although there could have been more lyrics with Jesus the message is clear. More about being up front and direct than prose and lit excellence. The singing is definitely top-notch as far as rock music is concerned. Jon is a skilled singer with a powerful and clear voice and on some of the heavier songs at the most climatic moments he let out some pretty intense screams.

Overall Impression — 10
The sound is definitely more original than other bands. Kutless has a sound that's just plain good. They manage to be heavy without copying screamo/metal stuff. As a christian rock band they set a mark for others of their ilk to follow. It's definitely an album that christian or non-christian listeners of rock will enjoy. I can't think of any reason to hate it and would buy it again if lost or stolen.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date