Wrath review by Lamb of God

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 24, 2009
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.9 (317 votes)
Lamb of God: Wrath

Sound — 10
The album is full of surprises, especially as far as guitar goes. Willie and Mark threw in acoustic guitars, sweep picking, some lower tunings, all of which have never been heard on a Lamb of God album before. Chris somehow managed to top the drums of any past release, and has without a doubt secured the position as the best metal drummer of our time. Campbell is as solid as ever on the bass during the rhythm sections and heavy riffs, but we also see him more melodic to his playing. He will without a doubt surprise many people with just how well he can assemble these softer, more melodic bass lines. Musically speaking i would consider this album a masterpiece. Lamb of God have made this album extremely focused musically and improved on their sound in ever aspect, and that is no easy task for any band to do.

Lyrics — 9
Randy is the eccentric frontman whose personal demons painted an explicit display of how tormented a soul could be on Sacrament. Wrath shows the return of the political and external side of Lamb of God suggesting that Randy may have just conquered his demons. There are still deeply personal songs on the album that bleed pain and hopelessness like Sacrament, but they aren't nearly as prevalent. Randy's vocals are as strong and powerful as. He has always had and authority and confrontational quality to his vocals, and this album really lets that shine. He gets more aggressive and more melodic at the same time. There are not nearly as many overdubs as Sacrament, but Randy will still kick your ass all over the place with Wrath.

Overall Impression — 10
The general word on the street was that Lamb of God's last album Sacrament (2006) was such a groundbreaking album that it couldn't be topped. Well Lamb of God have again said fuck you once again and created what could possibly be the definitive metal album of the decade. I am aware of the magnitude of that claim, but after listening the album in its entirety quite a few times it's one that I will gladly stand behind. Lamb of God has added so many new elements to their music, while still retaining the raw, brutal sound they are known for. They have improved on every aspect of their music and songwriting abilities. Their riffs are still fast and heavy, yet they expand even more on a concept they explored in Sacrament, they are catchy now too. The album itself sounds more like Ashes Of The Wake as far as recording and sound goes. The album sounds like four guys playing heavy metal in a room together, not an overproduced pro-tools creation. Don't be mislead though, the album may have an obviously more raw, organic nature to it but that doesn't mean that the playing it isn't crisp and rehearsed. In short, this is not an album you want to miss out on. There is nothing else left to say, but it and pleasure your ears in way you probably didn't know were possible. When Wrath is released on 2/24/09 the world will bow down to the true Gods of metal, because Lamb of God has proven that they are just that.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date