Wrath review by Lamb of God

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 24, 2009
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 7 Good
  • Users' score: 8.9 (317 votes)
Lamb of God: Wrath

Sound — 7
Although Lamb Of God are oftenly associated with such terms as the leaders of the "New Wave of American Heavy Metal'' or "pure American metal" and they classifies their music as 'heavy metal', the most accurate definition of their present style, would be groove/thrash with some death metal influence.The new Wrath album has (with a few very demanding parts) amazing guitars/bass while drums are really fantastic and one of the strongest elements of this album. The other element which becomes recognizable is bridge/rhythm change (usually after second chorus) it sounds always great, making their songs more interesting (despite of almost the same structure of whole album). One of the things which occasionally appears (on Sacrament in ''Redneck'' & now in ''In your words'') is different scream style on verse/pre-chorus & chorus in same song.For me this is important because when this form is used everything doesn't sounds so monotone (which is sometimes their problem and problem of similar bands like DevilDriver). Some parts can be emphasized and song sounds better. This would additionally improve their music. Unfortunately as I said this is used only sometimes. Unlike Sacrament (which is still their best album), Wrath is combination between spectacular, great, average, bad & unnecessary parts.Here is for example the best 2 songs on the album, ''In Your Words'' everything about this song is great until 3:25 after that you listen 2 minutes of nothing, ''Contractor'' mostly very good, with bad chorus but fantastic second bridge/rhythm change (first starts with bass).Or 2 songs with great (waste) potential ''Set to fail'' the beginning is spectacular the rest is average or ''Grace'' where beginning is also amazing but that's all what's good about this song (except solo, which is variation of beginning melody). The rest of songs is as I said before occasionally good, mostly average or bad.

Lyrics — 8
The words are mainly about some sad facts in life like in ''Grace'' where a broken,desperate man full of rage comes to the end realizing that no one and nothing can help him, or ''Everything To Nothing'' about a man who is a shadow of someone he used to be and message how fast can everything turn to nothing.Edification/message is often in their songs, like in "Reclamation" as Willie Adler said "It's about how we're destroying ourselves and the world around us, and that sooner or later, the tipping point will be reached" so most songs is in that context (some kind of edification), and ''Contractor'' where private military contracting companies and mercenaries being criticizes for crimes they commit it, also clearly has a message etc...

Overall Impression — 6
Overall, this isn't their best album,that's for sure.Nevertheless it has some very good parts, impressive drums with some ''death metal influence'', a few good songs like ''In Your Words'' & ''Contractor'' and fantastic bridge/rhythm changes,unfortunately there is also the other side of the album that can be gruelling,with often combination of fantastic,average,bad & unnecessary parts. I would recommend this album to all Lamb Of God fans & those who like the same or similar music style (bands like DevilDriver,or even legendary Pantera). Lamb Of God has good potential and with a few accepted advices and guidance from the world's greatest metal producers they could make something better than this.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date