Physical Graffiti review by Led Zeppelin

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 24, 1975
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.6 (63 votes)
Led Zeppelin: Physical Graffiti

Sound — 10
Physical Graffiti is described by many fans as the ultimate Zeppelin album, where the band sticks to their roots in heavy blues and folk, and at the same time stretches out to new horizons. Fans of Black Dog and Whole Lotta Love will enjoy heavier songs like Custard Pie, The Rover and Sick Again while those who enjoy their acoustic songs will like Black Country Woman and the country-influenced Down By The Seaside. This double album also includes Zeppelin's greatest attempt at a funk song, Trampled Under Foot, and the Eastern epic Kashmir, complete with a dramatic string arrangement and steady booming drums. While some of the songs aren't as polished as those on previous albums, the variety of styles the band attempted cannot be denied.

Lyrics — 10
Some of Zeppelin's best lyrics are found here. Robert Plant has managed to paint wonderful images with his lyrics (such as Kashmir), tell moving tales of a past love (Ten Years Gone) and still keep a sense of humor (Black Country Woman). At this point he had fully tapped into his creative side, but still had a humorous side to his lyrics, and his lyrics still made sense to the average listener.

Overall Impression — 10
While this is one of Zeppelin's best albums, I probably wouldn't recommend it as the first Zep album to listen to. While many of their best tracks are found here, there are also quite a few songs that could be considered filler. Despite this, it's a great place to find Zeppelin at their experimental and creative peak, and is recommended for any classic rock fan.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date