B Is For B-sides review by Less Than Jake

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 20, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 5.8 (10 votes)
Less Than Jake: B Is For B-sides

Sound — 8
During the creation of "Anthem" a more punk orientated reflective look back on mistakes made in the past Less Than Jake had to cut 12 songs from the album, to prevent it being too long. They decided to release the cut songs from Anthem as an album "B Is For B-Sides" for all of their faithful fans (they even included t-shirts with the first 10,000 copies). As for the songs themselves, they're in standard Less Than Jake style, which has worked for the past 12 years, so if it ain't broke, don't fix it. The sound is more like the "Anthem" sound, of dynamic, punchy songs, occasionally decorated with some horn work (though perhaps not as much as people would like).

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics, I have always found when listening to Less Than Jake, are the strongest point on this album. Vinnie (drummer and chief song-wrtier) and Chris (guitar and vocals) have once again come up with meaningful lyrics, without being too serious and heavy, something which Less Than Jake mastered on Anthem (a good example of this is "Goodbye In Gasoline" a thoughtful yet upbeat suicide song). Lyircal highlights on this album: Portrait Of A Cigarette Smoker at 19, Sleep It Off and A.S.A.O.K. As usual, the vocal duties are split equally between Chris (lower pitched, sometimes throaty vox) and Roger (more melodic, higher pitched vox), and both vocalists give a good account of themselves on this album.

Overall Impression — 8
Just a few random comments about the album in general: the t-shirt that came with it was cool-a nice gift from Less Than Jake. The album artwork is awesome as always. I was totally ripped off for this album by Reflex Records 26.00 for US import B Is For B-Sides limited edition copy. Anyway, summary: basically this album is Anthem Part II, only the songs that they cut have more energy, more horns (thank God) and sound more raw. Though saying that, the production on this album was pretty good. Worth buying if you're a Less Than Jake fan, but if you don't buy it, you're not missing out too much. Very good album, Less Than Jake keep on making great music. Best songs on the album: Goodbye In Gasoline, A.S.A.O.K, 911 To Anyone and Last Rites To Sleepless Nights. Final Comment: most bands in this genre (ska-punk, punk-pop, punk rock etc) would kill to release a full album this good, this is only a B-Sides album from Less Than Jake. Enough said.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    I just got this album like ages after it was released, and I got the T-Shirt too. Its an excellent Album, sounds more like an Album than a collection of B-Sides to be honest