Terror Hungry review by Lost Society

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 4, 2014
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 9 (8 votes)
Lost Society: Terror Hungry

Sound — 8
Finland's Lost Society is one of the bands in the revival of thrash metal, and along with their enthusiastic choice to make epochal metal music, their visual aesthetic - from the band's appearance to the cheesy album art of their debut album, "Fast Loud Death" - is deeply committed to emulating the dated style of the '80s. While it may seem like an obsolete decision to recreate something that's already come and gone, their dedication to recreating the reality of the '80s-era metal scene has a plentiful amount of fans who want to relive - or live, if they're of the younger generation - the heyday of metal (since time travel is not a possible option). With their debut album "Fast Loud Death" being a fast-burning flurry of thrash metal and a viable rite of passage to help bring on the revival of thrash, Lost Society wasted little time releasing their follow-up album, "Terror Hungry." 

The general music formula for "Terror Hungry" stays nearly the same as it was in "Fast Loud Death," but Lost Society decided to increase the strength, length, and potency this time around. Vocalist Sammy Elbanna kicks up the level of harshness in his vocals throughout the album, and the album stays in a high-gear of thrash metal, with a few groove metal sections in songs like "Overdosed Brain" and "Thrashed Reality," as well as some relatively slower intros to help you catch your breath from the fleeting riffs you heard in the song prior. This album is substantially longer than its predecessor, and about half of the songs on the album are around four minutes or more. And the longer the song, the more riffs and guitar solos you can cram into it, and that's exactly what Lost Society does. While there's a frantic guitar solo in nearly every song, "Brewtal Awakening," "Overdosed Brain" and "Attaxic" contain two solos, "Lethal Pleasure" contains three guitar solos, and "Tyrant Takeover" takes the grand prize with five (!!!) guitar solos; the elaborate dueling guitar solo in "Game Over" also deserves a special nod for being bada-s, and while "F.F.E." and "Terror Hungry" don't have guitar solos, it doesn't stop them from being powerful tracks with juicy, catchy riffs.

Lyrics — 7
Just like the sound aspect, the lyrics keep the same formula as seen in "Fast Loud Death," meaning that they were heavily embedded in keeping with the theme of the lyrics found in 80s thrash metal. You'll find your share of doomsday-esque themes, like in "Terror Hungry," "Attaxic," and "Lethal Pleasure" as well as a fair share of party themes that take themselves less seriously, like in "Brewtal Awakening," "Mosh It Up" and "Wasted After Midnight," and while the lyrics give off the vibe of being mock replicas of original '80s thrash lyrics (almost to the point of kitsch), they do indeed fit the theme well. "Tyrant Takeover" manages to be the most socially-conscious-themed song on the album, though social context in thrash metal has never been the most elegant, and "Snowroad Blowout" reaches originality - albeit, a strange originality - for sounding like it was written for the TV show "Ice Road Truckers."

Overall Impression — 8
In a display of what is the antithesis of a "sophomore slump," Lost Society successfully outdoes their first thrash metal album with flying colors, and the amount of energy in "Terror Hungry" from front to back is unrelenting and phenomenal. While this album provides only one flavor of metal, per se, if you're a fan of that flavor, you're getting a hearty and abundant serving of it. This album is sure to impress the old-school thrash fans who may think the revival of thrash can't provide anything worthwhile, as well as help recruit new thrash metal fans for the 21st century in order to make the thrash metal revival more than just a niche gathering of people longing for the past - why long for the past when kicka-s thrash metal can be made right here right now?

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Was extremely impressed with Fast Loud Death, and judging by those 2 videos this album's gonna be the same
    I Saw them in Copenhagen recently. I really like the energy they have on stage. It really brings new energy to the genere.