Liberation Transmission review by Lostprophets

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 27, 2006
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 7.3 (228 votes)
Lostprophets: Liberation Transmission

Sound — 8
The band's sound has matured very much from previous albums, and this shows. The guitars are much more noticalble than on 'Start Something', and songs like 'Everday Combat' and 'A Town Called Hypocrisy' have great guitar riffs, as well as there now being solo's ('4:AM Forever') unlike the previous albums.

Lyrics — 7
The lyrics is the thing everyone has been talking about with this album. Some old fans for Lostprophets may not be too happy when they hear some of the songs on this album such as 'Cant Stop Gotta Date with Hate' and 'Broken Hearts, Torn Up Letters and the Story of a Lonely Girl', which are much more emo songs than previous albums. Although being emo at points, the lyrics are very catchy and you may find yourself singing them at times when least expected. There is lots of 'Do-do-do-ing' and 'La-la-la-ing' which is also very cathcy.

Overall Impression — 8
01. Everyday Combat - best opener possible. It's a great song, one of the best on the album. The riff is very heavy and the solo is just awesome. If they could have cut it down a little, it would have been perfect. 02. A Town Called Hypocrisy - the second single to be released from the album. Catchy song that people will enjoy, with a nice riff to go with it. Good choice for a single. 03. The New Transmission - this song would have been good for an opening song, but 'Everyday Combat', I think, is in the right place. This song goes well with the theme of the album. 04. Rooftops (A Liberation Broadcast) - the top 10, first single from the album is not my favourite song, but is very popular with people, I don't really have much else to say about it apart from that. 05. Can't Stop, Gotta Date With Hate - this is one of the songs old Lostprophets fans may be unhappy about. A good song, but the chorus is very emo as well as the lyrics. 06. Can't Catch Tommorow (Good Shoes Won't Save You This Time) - the third single to be released from the album, and a very good choice. It is extremley catchy and will be in your head for days after a few listen. One of my favourite songs on the album. 07. Everybodys Screaming - would be a good song live, it has a very 'Shout-a-long' chorus. 08. Broken Hearts, Torn Up Letters And The Story Of A Lonely Girl - a good song, but again, this song is much different from previous songs on older albums. All-in-all a good song. 09. 4am Forever - the ballad of the album is easily the best on the CD. Amazing lyrics, pace and solo. 10. For All These Times Son, For All These Times - good cathy song but a bit mainstream. 11. Heaven For The Weather, Hell For The Company - is all I have to say here. 12. Always All Ways (Apologies, Glances And Messed Up Chances) - a very bad way to end the album, and is likely to be very unpopular with old Lostprophets fan. It's a mid-tempo emo song with ok-ish lyrics. Track 8 would have been better to end the album.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    people=shi... wrote: Ok LostProphets was never metal, and it wouldnt work to compare them to it. Ther new album is emo but dose everyband always stick with just one sound and only that sound. I love the new album, but it did let me down some,cause you expect to hear more of ther harder music like ther older albums.
    i agree