Start Something review by Lostprophets

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 3, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (63 votes)
Lostprophets: Start Something

Sound — 8
I've been a lostprophets fan since the days of Shinobi Vs. Dragonninja and what i was expecting wasnt what i got. This album is more along the alt-metal side of things rather then the nu-metal sounds of The Fake Sounds of Progress. It's also more electronic the The Fake Sonds of progress. But it's not bad. Also it's more laid back. But it still manage's to rock hard with songs like Start Something, And Make A Move.

Lyrics — 8
Ian is a great at what he does the lryic's on this outting are more mature then "The Fake Sounds of Progress" but it's definately in the Lostprophets styles of things only they can get away with being positive in the alt/nu-metal world. Again songs like "Start Something" can keep listening with the screaming vocals and good lryical structure while songs like "Endless Summer" slows things down a bit but still manages to capture you and makes you feel what he's saying.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall this one of the best albums of 2004. And this album is a must for Lostprophet fans and a good way to be introduced to the band. This album ranges from influences and the sonic landscape on this album is one that is unique and maintains a true prophet style sound. I recommand this album to anybody into the whole Alternative rock/nu-metal things fans of Linkin Park and incubus will definitely like this CD.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date