Start Something review by Lostprophets

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 3, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (63 votes)
Lostprophets: Start Something

Sound — 10
This album is less nu-metal than "The Fake Sound OOf Progress". Less scretching is used in t which is good. Ian Watkins sings better than he did. The most impressive thing is the back up vocal done by Jamie Oliver (the keyboard). Sometimes I think he does sings better than Ian. Back to the songs, I love the endings. It is absolutely amazing and makes the songs less similar to the songs by other nu-metal bands. "We Are Godzilla, You Are Japan" is the best track in "Start Something". Other songs rocks my socks as well!

Lyrics — 8
I love most of the lyrics. most of them is about those common topics like lost in the world, findin their own ways, etc. But still they sound pretty good. I think "Last Summer" is quiet special cuz not many nu-metal bands write lyrics about positive friendship. Ian has improved his writting skill. I think he wants the kis out there to relate more to his lyric. In my opinion, that's why the lyrics has pretty much personal feelings in it.

Overall Impression — 10
"Start Something" shows that lostprophets has improved a lot since "The Fake Sound Of Progress". The vocal, lyrics, sound or techinc have all been improved. After listening to this album, I have become a huge fan of lostprophets. They truely rock! If it was stolen, I would definitely buy it again cuz I still not getting bored of it even though I've listened to it like hundreds of times.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date