The Fake Sound Of Progress review by Lostprophets

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 16, 2001
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (32 votes)
Lostprophets: The Fake Sound Of Progress

Sound — 10
Soundwise this is way heavier then "Start Something". With a feel of down-tuned nu-metal guitars. Vocals that are as beautiful as they are monsterous. Overall soundwise The Fake Sounds of Progress may not be able to match the production qualities of Start Something. It does deliver with more raw energy then Start Something.

Lyrics — 8
Lryic wise this isnt what you would expect once you hear the songs. The lryic's are pretty positive and it's not on the border lines of "i hate my life blah blah blah". While Ian has the ability to make you feel what he's saying in songs like "Shinobi Vs. Dragonninja" & "The Handsome Life of Swing" he can also turn around and make you understand were he is coming from with tracks such as "The Fake Sounds of Progress" & "Still Laughing". But when compared to "Start Something" they arent even a match.

Overall Impression — 10
Although alot of people havent heard of Lostprophets until "Last Train Home". The band definitely shows that they have more of a raw energy. Overall this is the better album due to the fact that it has more of an energy missing from "Start Something". Overall if you havent heard of them then get introduced to them by this album. If you were introduced to them by "Start Something" then you might have some trouble adjusting to this sound and raw energy or this.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date