Sun Red Sun review by Lynch Mob

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 9, 2014
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7 Good
  • Users' score: 8.3 (6 votes)
Lynch Mob: Sun Red Sun

Sound — 7
George Lynch has a remarkable talent of being able to continuously craft new riffs which snare the listener's attention without sounding redundant, despite currently being a member of such bands as KXM, Sweet & Lynch, T&N, and the band which served as his landing pad upon leaving the Dokken lineup decades ago, Lynch Mob. While the members of Lynch Mob have had their problems and public feuds, not unlike most of your rock groups with prominent musicians and subsequently problematic egos, what matters is that the band's core of George Lynch and lead vocalist Oni Logan remains admirably intact, and they continue to craft ferocious hard rock, as exemplified on the band's new effort, "Sun Red Sun."

This album includes seven new high octane compositions, in addition to four remastered cuts that previously appeared on the band's "Sound Mountain Sessions" EP, which rounds the effort out to eleven punching tracks that fail to lose their edge. Despite being somewhat of a varietal offering, "Sun Red Sun" maintains a smooth transition quality from start to finish, which can largely be credited to the consistently solid approach which Lynch brings to the guitar. Songs such as natural harmonic-decorated opener "Believers of the Day" and the vicious "Play the Game" gallivant a familiar combination of passion-laced vocals and shredding guitar work, while "Erotika" shows Logan embodying a lyrical delivery not too much unlike that of Whitesnake's David Coverdale.

"Black Waters" is the latest instrumental from the "Mr. Scary" catalog, showcasing eccentric arpeggios and pick grinding soloings, while the album's title track brings the mood down on a lighthearted acoustic number which pays tribute to the late Badlands frontman Ray Gillen. Also thrown into the mix is an applaudable rendition of Bad Company's "Burnin Sky," which the members of Lynch Mob admirably fuse together with enough of their own character to make for a solid end product. As for the remastered cuts, there's nothing here that established listeners will gawk at, and were perhaps added into the track listing to constitute calling "Sun Red Sun" more than just your average EP and more like a new studio album, but at the same time there's nothing here to deter anyone who didn't pick up this previous outing. "Slow Drag" maintains it's choice blues rock feel, and the eerie vocal harmonies of "World of Chance" still has that alluring quality to it, and stand as welcome last-minute additions.

Lyrics — 7
Oni Logan still has that lung busting vocal power and formidable range as he did more than two decades ago on Lynch Mob's fan favorite 1990 debut, "Wicked Sensation," which provides enough familiarity to the newly released "Sun Red Sun" to allow casual listeners to latch on and enjoy the ride. However, this isn't any simple rehash of good albums gone by, and Logan isn't afraid to have some of his influences shine through into his performance, as indicated on the previously mentioned "Erotika," which embodies some strong Coverdale similarities as far as lyrical execution is concerned.

Overall Impression — 7
While it isn't the full blooded follow-up to 2009's "Smoke and Mirrors" that purists are sitting patiently for, Lynch Mob deliver a top notch compilation of anthemic songs on their latest offering, "Sun Red Sun." Although the new rampaging numbers are hastily welcomed, it's during the laidback tribute to Ray Gillen on the album's acoustic-powered title track that this effort earns it's "must grab" status, and comes warmly recommended to George Lynch advocates.

5 comments sorted by best / new / date

    logan quits my friend. I saw em a few years back got lynch so sign my guitar. A few weeks after that tour ended it was announced logan quit.
    It's not a bad album but honestly the KXM album is a much better collection of tunes. I was hoping for more from this.