Elegies [DVD] review by Machine Head

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 11, 2005
  • Sound: 9
  • Content: 6
  • Production Quality: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (30 votes)
Machine Head: Elegies [DVD]

Sound — 9
Whoa, this DVD was well worth the wait. Machine Head have put off doing a DVD for some time, but this is outstanding - a full live concert (recorded at London Brixton Academy in December 2004)? Yes please! As expected, Machine Head ain't gonna hold anything back - their heavy riffs and ear splitting solos are all here, including some old favourites that many won't have heard for awhile (Block, anyone).

Content — 6
The DVD features a full live concert, with optional tour footage in between, music videos for The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears, Imperium and Days Turn Blue To Gray (also with bonus footage) and a documentry on the making of Through The Ashes Of Empires, which talks about the hardships between Machine Head and Roadrunner Records and times between the critically-acclkaimed Supercharger and TTAOE. But thats it. Slightly disappointing, they could've included much more.

Production Quality — 8
Not much to say about this really, flashy lights and pyro, good music videos and recording quality.

Overall Impression — 10
This is an absolutely fantastic DVD, and any self-respecting Machine Head fan would buy a copy as soon as possible! The only bad thing about it is that there isn't enough content to last. But if you like your Machine Head, buy this as soon as you can!

6 comments sorted by best / new / date

    this dvd ****ing owns, the couple of interview parts in between the songs are cool aswell if u watch the concert and movie option. amazin shit
    yeah definately one of the more under-rated metal abnds out there....really like rob flyns vocals
    Over-rated is more how I would call them. But still... They're alright. They'd probably sell better if they weren't on Roadrunner.