World War III review by Madina Lake

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 13, 2011
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 6.7 (3 votes)
Madina Lake: World War III

Sound — 8
The last installation of Madina Lake's conceptual trilogy "World War III" has really various sound. On one hand band returned to sound from their debut album "From Them, Through Us, To You," on the other - they continued their music experiments. It should be mentioned, that big number of songs were made for other projects or as experiment and in the end only "Hey Superstar" and "What It Is to Wonder" sounds really close to Madina style. As a result we have an album, which includes really various list of songs: from metal & progressive alike tracks (like opening song "Howdy Neighbour!" and 2nd single "Imagineer") to electro-pop (like "Fireworks"). Wide range of music styles allows band show different instrumental and vocal skills.

Lyrics — 7
The most impressive and incredible lyrics on the album are concentrated on songs related to Matthew Leone's assaulting: aggressive "Howdy Neighbour!" with pschyco-social themes, very personal and emotional "We Got This" and very powerful, in someways melancholic, song about fear of loneliness - "The Great Divide." Other songs to be mentioned for their good lyrics are "Imagineer," another band's anthem for dreams and individuality; "They're Coming for Me" telling about very hard life situations, which person can not face alone. There are also some pretty good lyrics for "Across 5 Ocean" and "Blood Red Flags," there are many interesting metaphors in them, but they're another band's "broken heart" songs and looks like step backward to previous works. However some lyrics have nothing or something not so evident inside. Another ambiguous thing with lyrics that this time they are less connected with conceptual trilogy.

Overall Impression — 7
As for me the last Madina Lake album is a very interesting CD, which lets listeners to take a ride into the world of modern fame and fears. The most noticeable song from album are opening "Houdy Neigbour!," result of collaboration with Billy Corgan from The Smashing Pumpkins "Imagineer," "They're Coming for Me," "Hey Superstar" and "The Great Divide." It's hard to say is album perfect, good or simply normal. Big range of styles and genres in one album guarantee that everybody will find something suitable, but, however, some tracks could be a really big disappointment.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date